Weekly Photo Challenge: Spare

jeri walker, jeriwb.com, monument valley, desert landscape, horseback ride

In one of my favorite books, Desert Solitaire, Edward Abbey notes one of the reasons he likes the desert so much is because the plant and animal life must live in such a precarious balance to survive. There’s a certain amount of admiration and respect due to environments that demand we make due with very little. For this week’s photo challenge, I’ve picked the spare landscape of Monument Valley.

 

Its iconic imagery was inspiring, but the true highlight of the trip was the private guided horseback ride. Once back in a Canyon, the guide shared how a warrant was out for his arrest, so he couldn’t leave the reservation. Needless to say, I made it out alive and also enjoyed the stories he told about his family, especially his medicine man grandfather.

6 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Spare

  1. I’m not one for the desert, but I love what Edward Abbey and you said about it. I’ve never thought about it, especially applying that idea to a person’s life.

    Glad you made it out of there alive. Hope the warrant for his arrest is only for a bottle of whiskey. 🙂

    • Christy, I think this might be the last time I was on a horse. It’s hard to say for sure without going through old journal entries and a ton of photos. But I am going on a trail ride with a friend this weekend, so I’m looking forward to that.

Leave a Reply

