Weekly Photo Challenge: State of Mind

Picture of dead denuded roses in vase

These denuded roses started off as a bouquet brought to me in a plastic grocery sack by a very frugal man. The short stems made them unfit for display in anything but a small drinking glass. I cherished them nonetheless and kept the roses well past their expiration date. On the morning I thought to throw them out, the sun struck the glass just right. I became enraptured and ultimately decided to pluck away the remaining petals.

At that time, my psyche matched those sad roses. But even then, a different slant of light brought out a new beauty. After years of neglect, my senses were starting to come alive allowing me to look at things anew. That is why I picked the above picture for this week’s photo challenge. I’m happy to report he upgraded to a dozen long-stemmed roses this Valentine’s Day.

 

16 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: State of Mind

  1. I love those roses… but above all I enjoyed the story behind them… Very compelling and touching…
    Let me quote these lines from `Life Is a Dream´ (`La vida es sueño´) by Pedro Calderón de la Barca (1635), as I fell they catch the spirit of your post too:
    What is life? ‘Tis but a madness.
    What is life? A thing that seems,
    A mirage that falsely gleams,
    Phantom joy, delusive rest,
    Since is life a dream at best,
    And even dreams themselves are dreams´…
    Best wishes, dear Jeri… Aquileana ⭐️

    • Lena, the slant of light I captured in this photo makes me regret the one afternoon where the sun fell through the front window and created the most magical of shadows on the wall with my cuckoo clock. I was busy and didn’t take a picture. I figured the light would do the same in the next few days, but then it got overcast. Guess I will have to wait patiently for it to fall that way again.

  2. This picture and your words have got to be one of your best. I’m so glad you’re able to look at things in a new light. And I’m glad those roses grew into long stem roses. 😀

Leave a Reply

