Weekly Photo Challenge: Life Imitates Art

Image of the bean or cloudgate

Life and art cease to imitate each other when they become interactive as does The Cloud Gate sculpture at Chicago’s Millennium Park. The scene created is all very meta. Perhaps that’s why I’ve always found public art displays irresistible. On this Chicago trip I spent an entire afternoon by myself wandering about the Chicago Art Institute. The experience was sublime. With that, I leave with you the display otherwise known as The Bean for this week’s photo challenge.

12 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Life Imitates Art

  1. One of the best attractions that Chicago has to offer and you captured it beautifully! And I completely love the Chicago Art Institute. I’ve been there a dozen times and could still go again and again:)

  2. Great shot, dear Jeri… And love the prompt as well…
    It was Oscar Wilde who said in `The Decay of Lying´, “Life imitates Art far more than Art imitates Life”. 🙂
    Have a great week ahead. Aquileana ⭐

  3. The Art Institute is one of my favorite Chicago museums. I find art around a city interesting too. Sometimes I don’t understand its purpose, but it adds to the flavor of the place. Thanks for sharing.

    • Denise, along with Jacquie, you too have also been lucky to call Chicago home. I agree how the pieces add to the flavor of a place. Sometimes it’s enough that they make the viewer stop and notice them. We spend too much of our days hurrying past everything at times it seems.

Leave a Reply

