Weekly Photo Challenge: Optimistic

Picture of Bike and Canal in Amsterdam

Travel keeps me optimistic. The anticipation of going new places can offer distraction from the drudgery of daily tasks. On another level, being outside on a nice day tends to create situations that get the brain’s happy juices flowing. More specifically, the glint of light on the surface of water has always been a surefire way for me to find contentment. This world of light and shadow we live in carries so much beauty, we need only to open our eyes to experience it. Once again, this week’s photo challenge conjures a desire to return to the Netherlands.

10 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Optimistic

  1. I loved Amsterdam, Jeri. It was so utterly unique from any other place I’d been to that point. The people, the history, the food, the walking everywhere…and the astounding amount of bicycles! Blog on my site: Alluring Amsterdam, if you want to check it out. Great photo.

    • Rose, one of the tour guides I had pointed out that there are 400,000 bikes in a city of 300,000 people. That boggled my mind. Thanks for letting me know about your Amsterdam post. I’ll be sure to check it out.

  2. I’m with you regarding the reflection of light on water, and the mirroring of the atmosphere. I’m content with it. We were in Amsterdam in October, and all of us couldn’t understand how people find their bikes. There are parking lots full of bikes, bikes chained to bridges some piled on top of others. I wonder if they have a GPS on their bikes.

    • Denise, I can absolutely envision that bike mess you’ve just described. On the canal tour I took, I remember seeing an entire garage devoted to bikes. Then the guide of the walking tour I took pointed out that it’s common for people who’ve been drinking and smoking a lot to find bikes that aren’t locked up and dump them into the water.

Leave a Reply

