Weekly Photo Challenge: Weight(less)

Picture of frozen lake

The weight in this picture comes from the oppressiveness of all that white made doubly so by the foggy haze. Wintertime in the Boise area tends to find one inversion settling in after another. Days and days often go by without the sun making an appearance and frosted fog will coat branches, blades of grass and chainlink fences. I took this photo a couple of years ago for a beginner’s photography class and knew sooner or later the chance would arise to use it for a weekly photo challenge.

Despite the stark loneliness the picture invokes, that day was good day. A day I would give anything to experience again. My ex and I kept throwing rocks out on the frozen lake that the dog then chased while slipping and sliding all over the place. Fast forward to today, the date he left and never came back. Though at times I’ve felt like the figure in the photo, I know I am not frozen. I’ve got a lot of living left to do.

12 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Weight(less)

  1. White is an achromatic color, a mixture of all the colors of the visible spectrum…
    I believe that weightless is also an adjective that fits it well… Plus the photograph seems truly ethereal…
    Wonderful capture with so many layers of meanings behind it, dear Jeri…
    I am wishing you a great weekend ahead. Aquileana ⭐️🌟

  2. You truly captured loneliness. I love what you said about it. It brought tears to my eyes because even though I can’t imagine what you went through, you’re definitely not frozen.

Leave a Reply

