Weekly Photo Challenge: Oops

Picture of feet in socks and flip flops

I don’t make a habit of wearing socks with my flip flops on, but I had no other alternative to fight the morning chill at my campsite. The day before, I had lost my balance while trying to cross a stream on a wobbly log. Suffice to say, starting the hike to Amber Gulch too late in the day created a domino effect from the day’s hastiness. It never fails: go on a hike unprepared, and you’re going to get screwed.

To top it off, it was too dark to bother with dinner at camp. I had no extra shoes, so we headed into Ketchum and got on the waiting list at The Pioneer Saloon. It was the best ten o’clock piece of prime rib I can ever recollect eating, even if I had to do so in soggy shoes. Balance and coordination are something I continue to work on, so I found this image fitting for this week’s photo challenge.

14 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Oops

  1. Glad you’re OK. Challenging balance is the best way not to fall, but it’s going to happen sometimes. Take care! Can’t think of a story off hand, but the toasty toes are resonating. Who knows, the story may come to me in the middle of the night.

  2. After this great, quite epic story, I’ll have to find a good excuse for wearing flip flops with socks when I am at home… 😁 I am trying, and yet…
    I loved your twist on this prompt, dear Jeri… Happy weekend, Aquileana 🔆

    • Aqui, I didn’t include in the post how my grandma used to wear flip flops with socks all of the time when we spent time at our property in Montana. She was quite stylish. I tend to delete my fail photos, so I decided to go with this one. At least it shows the aftermath of an oops moment. Happy weekend to you as well.

  3. LOL! I love the socks and flip flops. I understand about wobbly. When we were in the Black Forest, I tried crossing a stream with Shakespeare for a great photo. Um… I didn’t make it. Down and soaked. But I don’t recall getting prime rib. I think I need to file a complaint.

Leave a Reply

