Weekly Photo Challenge: Roy G. Biv

Picture of Hot Air BalloonsRoy G. Biv is probably one of the first mnemonics many of us learned. The visible colors of the electromagnetic spectrum are forever entrenched in my brain: red, orange, yellow, green, blue, indigo, and violet. I made Roy’s acquaintance in middle school science, but it wasn’t until whiling away the hours in AP Astronomy in high school that I invented an identity for this famous man. This week’s photo challenge invites photos that make use of this color palette. But go figure, I guess science now calls him Roy G. Bv because indigo is no longer considered a separate color in the visible spectrum. The more you know…

16 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Roy G. Biv

    • Jacquie, the morning air has to be so calm for balloons to launch so this is one of those times when Mother Nature did all the work. All I had to do is point and shoot without tinkering with the camera settings.

    • Susan, the balloons do indeed have a quiet majesty. The first time I ever saw on in the Boise sky my first year here, I had to do a double take because I knew nothing about the launch that was going on and had no idea they would be lazily wafting all over the sky as I rode my bike to work.

    • A.K., this was taken during the Boise River Fest. The festival went belly-up, but then the balloons were still launched every year. Since I moved away for a couple of years, I honestly don’t know if the launch still happens. I need to find out because it was always a fun morning to go out and watch them.

  1. Love this picture. I was just looking at hot air balloon rides for our vacation. Some day, when the funds are better, I’ll have to experience one. Thanks for sharing.

    • Denise, I think there’s a great Groupon deal in my area almost nonstop in my area for balloon rides. I really should take a ride one of these days. I’m sure it would be a once-in-a-lifetime experience.

Leave a Reply

