Weekly Photo Challenge: Gone, But Not Forgotten

0029 Weekly Photo Challenge Gone But Not Forgotten

The human heart is cable of breaking in so many ways, and for this week’s photo challenge, I give you Speckles. She may be gone, but will never be forgotten. Ten years was not long enough to spend with her, but she died shortly after we made the move from Idaho to North Carolina. In a life filled with pets, she was simply “the one.” Not long after, I wrote a post titled Dear Speckles.

Recently, my blogger friend Mike said good-bye to his beloved Phoenix and Cheryl lost her friend Kerri. This post is for all the pets we have mourned and will mourn, though my heart always fills with happiness when I think of the many things that brought Speckles joy. From all the hikes we took, to the tricks I taught her, to the trill of hanging her head out the car window, she taught me to find joy in the moment.

18 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Gone, But Not Forgotten

      • You had to be alone through that? My heart goes out to you, truly. When I lost my boy, Archie, a number of years ago, I couldn’t even get out of bed for three days but at least I had someone to bring me food (and force me to eat)
        It is that tremendous grief that assures me I am also capable of great love. A price for everything…but one I will remain grateful to pay 🙂

  1. Oh my gosh, the second the link opened up I recognized her!! I remember reading (and commenting on) your post about Speckles a long time ago! It was right around the time I first met you online. After that you had me hooked as a follower always, Jeri. I was ok at first looking at her beautiful picture above then I read your tribute to her a SECOND time and the floodgates opened up just now. Thank you, thank you for sharing this with us and I DEEPLY appreciate you mentioning Phoenix also. You are a sweetheart for doing that…for him…and me. Sending my thoughts and prayers to Kerri as well. Have a really good weekend my friend 🙂

  2. I think these are the very hardest losses to bear. I still miss my fur kids…since childhood i have had a dog and then four cats. There is something about that particular space that they occupy in your heart that always seems to stay a little bruised.

  3. There is always “the one”. I’ve had pets all my life, and now I know I’m living with “the one”, I hope to always be there for my magnificent felis catus, which means that I will be the one missing him 😦

Leave a Reply

