Weekly Photo Challenge: Minimalist

Picture of Charleston Harbor

The flat water of Charleston Harbor in the early morning has a minimalist quality about it in that the path of light leads to Fort Sumter. As with most of my pictures, this week’s photo challenge photo came about by simply being in the right place at the right time. In this case, that involved a crack of dawn jog along Charleston’s Battery. Even before ever laying eyes on the city, I had come to know it and the surrounding area well thanks to Pat Conroy’s novels The Prince of Tides and The Lords of Discipline. I’m also envious that fellow writer and blogger friend Jacqueline Gum is lucky enough to call Charleston home.

10 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Minimalist

  1. I see great surprises arriving in little (minimalist) packages here. The possibility of a previous difficult night to see those dark clouds clearing with the promise for a brighter new day. I love it when your pictures take me off on a mental escape of pondering, Jeri 🙂

    • Mike, glad my pictures can provide a brief mental escape from time to time. Overall, I think I took some of my best water and beach pictures when down South. I’m sure soon enough the right photo challenge will come along and I’ll share my sunset picture of Pamlico Sound.

  2. Jeri, my heart skipped a tiny beat when I open the email and saw this picture…it’s the view from my balcony and I’m so lucky to witness this scene almost every day:) This particular photo is amazing in that you managed to capture a mood…just on of many moods that the harbor presents daily. You’re invited! Come to Charleston anytime and take picture from my balcony:) Thanks so much for the shout-out!

Leave a Reply

