Weekly Photo Challenge: Cover Art

Picture of a Corpse Flower

In between starting a freelance editing business and moving across the country and back, I’ve also been drafting my first novel. For this week’s photo challenge, I’ve picked a picture of an Indian Pipe taken in the woods of northwest Montana on my family’s property. During my revisions, I’ve been toying with ways the flower can be metaphor for the life my protagonist has led.

Also known as a ghost plant or corpse plant, the flower is essentially a parasite of a parasite as it takes its nutrients from tree fungi. The white color comes from its lack of chlorophyll because it doesn’t require sunlight to grow. Growing conditions make it a rare flower, and some varieties will have black specks or a pale pink coloring. The rarest ones of all will be deep red.

Even better, if picked they soon shrivel into a twisted black mass. So what does all of this have to do with my work in progress Lost Girl Road? Time will tell, but it’s safe to say I don’t write stories full of sunshine and rainbows. I do know the imagery possibilities surrounding such a flower are endless.

17 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Cover Art

  1. The Indian Pipe is beautiful and you did a GREAT job on your Lost Girl Road teaser video, Jeri 🙂 Nice add on extra video of Hungry Kitty too 🙂

Leave a Reply

