Weekly Photo Challenge: Dreamy

Picture of Burg Eltz German Castle

A recent trip to Germany and surrounding countries ensured I came away with more than a few dreamy pictures. After all, how can one really differentiate between the dreaminess of the sun breaking over the alps in Switzerland after a rainstorm, the jagged peaks of Austria, or the fairy tale majesty of Neuschwanstein, the castle that inspired Walt Disney’s castle? For me, I was most enraptured by Burg Eltz. The castle has been in the same family going on 34 generations and is 850 years old. It has stood the test of time and never succumbed to attack. It endures and feeds the imagination of all who visit.

17 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Dreamy

    • Cheryl, if you love castles, you will love Germany. We toured three, but would have loved to tour even more. At least one along the Rhine has been turned into a hotel as well. If I’d discovered that beforehand, it would have been neat to sleep in a castle as opposed to a hotel 🙂

  1. That is an absolutely amazing picture and one of my new favorites of your’s, Jeri. Ironic as I’ve been nose deep into Rick Steves Germany travel book as you may remember being my #1 bucket list. And my #1 area that I want to see most is Salzburg and specifically Berchtesgaden and the Eagle’s Nest. Perfect timing for your post, my friend. Thank you for smile 🙂

    • Mike, haha it’s because of Rick Steve’s episodes that we ended up putting Burg Eltz on our “must-see” list. I hope you get to make it to Salzburg one of these days. We wanted to, but could only fit so much into two weeks. One of these days, I know we’ll use Vienna as a base-city for exploration and will be able to see the Eagle’s Nest then.

  2. Oh my goodness, your photo arouses a flood of remembering!
    We were there with our dear German friends, and found the castle unbelievable even as we were gazing at it. Dreamy, indeed! Thanks for the memory.

    • Jacquie, the tour guides were so full of stories about all three of the castles I visited. Can you imagine what a family saga that must be for the family that’s owned Burg Eltz for 850 years? Maybe a writer in their family will tackle the subject one of these days. I was surprised the gift shop there didn’t have an informative book.

Leave a Reply

