Weekly Photo Challenge: Zigzag

jeriwb, jeriwb.com, jeri walker-bickett, postaday, cape hatteras lighthouse, the outer banks, north carolina, lighthouses

I’ve never zigzagged to the top of a lighthouse, but this week’s photo challenge made me think of all the ones I’ve taken sharply angled shots of in the past. The Cape Hatteras Lighthouse in North Carolina’s Outer Banks stands 210 feet tall and is the tallest brick lighthouse in the US. What I’ve most enjoyed about visiting various lighthouses are the stories that can be heard about the caretaker and their families. Oftentimes, the local lighthouse served as a hub and gathering place for small communities. Perhaps I feel the slightest spark for a story idea from that one of these days…

9 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Zigzag

  1. Hey, a black and white barbershop pole! 🙂 It is absolutely gorgeous! My dad taught History (among other subjects) for 30 years and up until when illness took over his brain I would soak up anything and everything he shared with me. One of those things were the trips we took up the coast of California. The lighthouses. They still stand as sentinels for vessels and were also important landmarks for lookouts during WWII. Repeating myself…I look forward to this post each week so very much, Jeri!! 🙂

  2. I always visit lighthouses in the places I visit (if I find out that there is one in the vicinity). There is something very restful about them: perhaps it comes from the knowledge that they keep those at sea away from danger.

Leave a Reply

