Weekly Photo Challenge: Relic

Picture of Rusty Car in Silver City, Idaho

The relic I’ve selected to share for this week’s photo challenge is of a rusty car that sits abandoned in the ghost town of Silver City, Idaho. It’s one of the few mining ghost towns that didn’t burn down or become commercialized. Many of the buildings appear to still be in use and under private ownership, but the Idaho Hotel and a few shops are still open for business. The town is about a two-hour drive from Boise. One of my friends who lives on a ranch in the Owyhees got married there as well. I really should go back for another visit one of these days and let my imagination run wild.

10 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Relic

  1. I absolutely loved this, Jeri! My Dad and Uncle were born in Mountain Home and they took me to Silver City several times as a kid! I always ponder what the stories are behind old cars left abandoned like this one. I think vehicles can carry a spirit (not like a ghost) of another era. Eeeshh, that was deep huh? 🙂 Have a great weekend! 🙂

Leave a Reply

